Public Health Agencies Healthcare Transition NICU Parent Resource Manual

Arizona Family-to-Family Health Information Center

Raising Special Kids is Arizona’s Family-to-Family Health Information and Education Center*. Family Health Centers are parent-run and provide free information, training and assistance to families, professionals and others, connecting them to statewide resources for children, age birth to 26, with special health care needs.

Contact us for information about:

  • Health Care Financing
  • Medical Home
  • Early & Periodic Screening
  • Navigating Community Services
  • Transition to adult systems of care
  • Family/Professional Partnerships

Raising Special Kids works to support the development of effective partnerships between parents and health care professionals. We partner with health care providers, state agencies, programs for medical residents, and with other community organizations to promote understanding of the value of family-centered, culturally competent care.

The Family-to-Family Health Information and Education Center builds on prior initiatives to represent the family voice in Arizona on issues related to children with disabilities and special health needs. Specific activities in statewide initiatives address access to care, electronic health records, emergency preparedness, insurance coverage, improving service delivery, and other important health care policy issues.

One of our partners in this project is the Title V Program at the Arizona Department of Health Services, Office for Children with Special Health Care Needs (OCSHCN). We work closely with OCSHCN to provide parent and youth involvement in systems level activities and also in our family-centered care trainings for medical residents.

Raising Special Kids is also the Arizona chapter of Family Voices, a national network which advocates for health care services and provides information for families of children with special health care needs.

Arizona's Family Voices chapter operates in partnership with the Arizona Department of Health Services, Office for Children with Special Health Care Needs (OCSHCN).

Information on Health Care Financing

Navigating public health care systems and understanding private insurance can be challenging. We provide families with information to help them make informed decisions regarding their children’s care, including information on:

  • Eligibility Requirements
  • Application Information
  • System-specific Information
  • Appeal Processes
  • Insurance

For assistance, please call us at 602-242-4366 or 800-237-3007. Click here for information on local agencies and organizations.

American Health Care Act Fact Sheet for Arizona​

Affordable Care Act

Coverage options for people with disabilities - If you have a disability, you have a number of options for health coverage.

Health Care Reform: What’s in it for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs?

Need help navigating the Affordable Care Act? Click here to search for an ACA Assister.

National Center for Family Professional Partnerships monthly articles and tip sheets for families and others about the Affordable Care Act (ACA)

Tips for ACA Enrollees: From Coverage to Care - Persons with DisabilitiesTips for ACA Enrollees: From Coverage to Care - Persons with Disabilities

*The Arizona Family-to-Family Health Information Center is funded under Grant Award #H84MC07942 from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs.

This publication is partially supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under the Family to Family Health Information Centers, CFDA No. 93.504. The information, content, and conclusions should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.

Upcoming Events

View Full Calendar

Featured Story

Creating Community Connections

Creating Community Connections

Heysi Notario was really excited to participate in the 2014 Virginia G. Piper Sports and Fitness Center (SpoFit) IronKids event sponsored by United Healthcare. He found... Keep Reading

Read More Stories

Follow @ Raisingspecialk

Families assisted


Get Started

Parent-to-parent matches


Support Network

Professionals trained


What to Expect

Community partners


Partner with Us

Families Helping Families

Get Started

Contact Us

Raising Special Kids

5025 E. Washington St., Ste. 204 Phoenix, AZ 85034

  • Phoenix: 602-242-4366
  • Flagstaff: 928-444-8834
  • Tucson: 520-441-4007
  • Yuma: 928-444-8803
  • Toll Free: 800-237-3007